Why You Should Buy Makeup at T.J. Maxx

IMG_0673[1]
A couple people enter T.J. Maxx after the store opens. It was a beautiful morning. (Photo by Kristin Guglietti)
I never shopped at T.J. Maxx until last year. I was scrolling through Instagram one day and someone posted makeup they found at T.J. Maxx. Everything was from big brands such as Sephora, Kat Von D, and Too Faced, however, the price was different.

I’m going to share my shopping tips, show you what I found in one trip, and share the things I’ve bought previously. Let’s start with my tips for shopping at T.J. Maxx.

1. Always look at Instagram before driving to the store

I always look at #tjmaxxfinds to see what everyone else is finding. Chances are what they found could be in stock at your closest store.

2. Follow beauty Instagrammers and bloggers

Similar to number one, people who post beauty steals will let you know as soon as possible so you can hopefully find it too. One person I follow is @dalimakeup on Instagram. She posts several T.J. Maxx beauty steals such as the Marc Jacobs eyeshadow palette she recently found for $19.99.

3. Take your time in the store

Sometimes the thing you want is hidden behind something bulky. You have to move things around to find hidden treasures. Just don’t make a mess.

4. Use your phone to look up products for information

I once saw a Mac Amber Times Nine eyeshadow palette, but after looking up the swatches I chose not to buy it. Besides swatches, I can also find out if a product is cruelty free, reviews, and original prices.

5. Ask yourself if you need it or want it

Personally I’m trying not to buy things that I know I’m only going to use once. Before buying anything, take a moment to reflect whether or not the product is worth your hard earned cash.

6. Come back every few days

Several months ago someone posted Kat Von D blushes they found, but I couldn’t find any in the store. I went back a few days later and the store had plenty.

7. Call the store and ask

If traveling to the store is an issue, call the store and ask if they have what you are looking for. One employee told me a customer called her and asked if the store had any Anastasia contour cream kits. She looked in the store and told the customer that the kits were in stock.

8. Scroll through T.J. Maxx’s website

I don’t do this often, but there’s interesting stuff online. For example, a couple weeks ago, the Tarte Tartiest Pro eyeshadow palette was $10 cheaper than the original price. Sadly it is no longer on the website.

After looking at what I found in one day, you’ll see why you need to start shopping at T.J. Maxx. The prices are the best, there’s a variety of stuff, and it’s fun like a beauty treasure hunt.

Below are things I’ve bought previously at T.J. Maxx. I also have a pair of boots and a curling iron. So far I’m happy with what I’ve purchased.

By the way, I’m still on the hunt for Marc Jacobs eyeshadow palettes. What items have you found at T.J. Maxx?

2 thoughts on “Why You Should Buy Makeup at T.J. Maxx

Comment Below

