End of Spring Semester at Rowan University

It’s the end of the semester at Rowan University. I’ve learned so much about online journalism and met some awesome people along the way. Some people choose to say farewell to their blogs, but this blog stays alive. I’m hoping to post at least once a week. Expect more interviews, events, and reviews. And let me know what you want to see!

For this class, the biggest challenge for me was finding local makeup artists and events in South Jersey. South Jersey’s beauty community feels so small compared to cities like New York and Philadelphia. I had to constantly search on Instagram and Facebook. I would search #njmua over and over while looking at local businesses for events. My best advice for any beauty blogger out there is to keep researching and use social media.

Social media is one of the greatest tools to make connections with people and spread the word about your blog. Right now my blog has over 1,000 hits. Sharing every blog post on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and even on Snapchat has helped build traffic.

One thing I learned as a beauty blogger/online journalist is that most people are willing to talk to you about themselves. There’s no need to be shy. I feel a lot more comfortable now after talking to so many amazing people.

Favorite Posts this Semester:

 

Comment Below

